

THE LEGISLATURE

JOINT COMMITTEE ON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

BOJI TOWER – 3RD FLOOR • 124 WEST ALLEGAN STREET – P.O. BOX 30036 LANSING, MICHIGAN 48909-7536 PHONE: (517) 373-9425 • EMAIL: JCAR@LEGISLATURE.MI.GOV

COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES June 26, 2024

A meeting of the Joint Committee on Administrative Rules was scheduled for Wednesday, June 26, 2024, at 9:00 a.m., in the 1100 Room of the Binsfeld Office Building.

The agenda summary is as follows:

- 1. Organizational meeting.
- 2. Vote to waive remaining session days JCAR 24-18 (MOAHR 2023-076 ED) Department of Education Superintendent of Public Instruction Special Education Programs and Services.
- 3. Vote to waive remaining session days JCAR 24-11 (MOAHR No. 2023-077 ED) Department of Education, Superintendent of Public Instruction Teacher and School Administrator Evaluation Tools.
- 4. Vote to waive remaining session days JCAR 24-19 (MOAHR 2023-078) Department of Education Superintendent of Public Instruction School Social Worker Certification Code.
- 5. Vote to waive remaining session days JCAR 24-12 (MOAHR No. 2023-079 ED) Department of Education, Superintendent of Public Instruction – Teacher Certification Code.

The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:01 a.m. He instructed the Clerk to call the roll. At that time, the following members were present: Chair Wojno, Sen(s). Bayer, McMorrow, Theis and Runestad, Alternate Chair Haadsma, Rep.(s) Libarati, Carter, Bierlein and Beeler, a quorum was present.

The Chair entertained a motion by Rep. Haadsma to adopt the committee rules for the 2023-2024 session period. The vote was as follows:

Yeas: Chair Wojno, Sen(s). Bayer, McMorrow, Theis and Runestad, Alternate Chair Haadsma, Rep.(s) Libarati, Carter, Bierlein and Beeler Navs: None

The motion prevailed and the rules were adopted.

The Chair entertained a motion by Rep. Haadsman to adopt the meeting minutes from November 8, 2023. Without objection the minutes were adopted.

The Chair invited Mary Fielding from the Michigan Department of Education to summarize rules 2023-76, 2023-77, 2023-78 and 2023-79.

The Chair invited the following individuals to present testimony and answer members questions regarding rules 2023-76, 2023-77, 2023-78 and 2023-79:

Krista Ried, Michigan Department of Education Nancy Rotarius, Michigan Department of Education

The Chair entertained a motion by Rep. Haadsma to waive the remaining session days on rule 2023-76.

The Senate vote was as follows:

Yeas: Chair Wojno, Sen(s). Bayer and McMorrow Nays: Sen.(s) Theis and Runestad

The House vote was as follows:

Yeas: Rep.(s) Haadsma, Libarati and Carter Nays: Rep.(s) Bierlein and Beeler

The motion prevailed.

The Chair entertained a motion by Rep. Haadsma to waive the remaining session days on rule 2023-77.

The Senate vote was as follows:

Yeas: Chair Wojno, Sen(s). Bayer and McMorrow Nays: Sen.(s) Theis and Runestad

The House vote was as follows:

Yeas: Rep.(s) Haadsma, Libarati and Carter Nays: Rep.(s) Bierlein and Beeler

The motion prevailed.

The Chair entertained a motion by Rep. Haadsma to waive the remaining session days on rule 2023-78.

The Senate vote was as follows:

Yeas: Chair Wojno, Sen(s). Bayer and McMorrow Nays: Sen.(s) Theis and Runestad

The House vote was as follows:

Yeas: Rep.(s) Haadsma, Libarati and Carter Nays: Rep.(s) Bierlein and Beeler

The motion prevailed.

The Chair entertained a motion by Rep. Haadsma to waive the remaining session days on rule 2023-79.

The Senate vote was as follows:

Yeas: Chair Wojno, Sen(s). Bayer and McMorrow Nays: Sen.(s) Theis and Runestad

The House vote was as follows:

Yeas: Rep.(s) Haadsma, Libarati and Carter Nays: Rep.(s) Bierlein and Beeler

The motion prevailed.

There being no further business before the committee, the Chair moved to adjourn the committee. Without objection, the committee was adjourned at 9:23 a.m.

Date Adopted by Committee: